http://humeursdeparis.com/app/uploads/2015/02/expo-jean-paul-gaultier-grand-palais-660x373-e1424026745834.jpg

What I’m looking forward to in 2015

I don’t know if you’re like me, but I love the beginning of a new year. I know you’ll tell me they’re difficult to appreciate when January unravels a series of days so cold you feel it in your bones, giving you more than a few excuses to ditch those ridiculous resolutions you’ve hated from the minute you took them.

Well, fair enough, but I prefer seeing this time of year as an occasion to turn the page and start a new chapter. I press the pause button and I take a deep breath, until I’m ready to kick off the new year with a head full of exciting ideas and projects. I browse the web, reading blogs and everything I stumble upon, checking out upcoming events. And I can already declare that on both sides of the Atlantic, 2015 promises to be a stimulating and fulfilling year.

Here’s the list of events not to miss that I have decided to put into my agenda.

1. Jean-Michel Basquiat Exhibit «Now’s the Time», Toronto

A review of the AGO's really big Jean Michel Basquiat show.

It’s the first Canadian retrospective for this multi-talented artist who, during his short life, marked a generation with his powerful and provocative artwork covering themes of racism, social inequities, and death, earning him an international reputation.

Art Gallery of Ontario, April 1 to May 7

2. À Paradise City, Jean Leloup’s new album

We had to wait five long years, but  Jean Leloup, the bad boy of music, is finally back. He who haunts us from the very first notes, envelops us, and makes us forget our troubles, has just released a new album called À Paradis City, yet another journey into his fantasy world.
Out February 3

 3House of Cards, Season 3

I just can’t wait to find out what the Machiavellian Underwood duo have up their sleeves in this third season, now that the fearsome Kevin Spacey has finally become the President of the United States, going face to face with an equally daunting opponent: Russia.

On Netflix starting February 27

4. The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier, Paris

expo-jean-paul-gaultier-grand-palais-660x373

Starting April 1, the prestigious Grand Palais is rolling out the red carpet for this vibrant exhibit, which first took place at Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, under the direction of Nathalie Bondil and the charming Thierry Maxime Loriot – one of the most spectacular and creative exhibits ever presented. This fabulous adventure is on to its 10th stopover after Montreal, Dallas, San Francisco, Madrid, Rotterdam, Stockholm, Brooklyn, London and Melbourne. And it’s magical every time!

Galeries Nationales du Grand Palais, April 1 to August 3

5. The Elephant Man, New York

Elephant Man, TheBooth Theatre

Because it’s not every day you get to see Bradley Cooper in a play, and even rarer to watch him incarnate someone like The Elephant Man – a repellent, disfigured character – and because Cooper delivers a fantastically disarming performance.

Booth Theatre, closing February 21

6. Sophie Calle and David Altmejd Exhibits, Montreal 

Calle_Conf-1024x682

Amazing things are happening at the Montreal Contemporary  Art Museum this year. If, like me, you watched Tout Le Monde en Parle recently, you probably fell for French artist Sophie Calle’s irresistible charm. She’s an accomplished artist whose work and methods are completely captivating and absolutely worth your time.

Altmejd2

And starting in June, the MAC is welcoming yet another fascinating exhibit, Flux , by Montrealer David Altmejd – whose work I had the privilege of admiring at the Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris. And believe me, it’s an exceptional exhibit, filled with his masterful giants and breathtaking pieces.

Montreal Contemporary Art Museum, from February to September

7. New IRO boutique, Montreal

I won’t try to hide that I’m a fan of the French clothing brand IRO, a mix of bobo chic and rock ‘n’ roll. Well, get ready, because they’re opening their first Canadian boutique, and – oh happy days – they’ve chosen to settle down in Montreal!

iro_woman_fw14_000005

Lookbook IRO SS 15_000009

4883 Sherbrooke Street, Opening February 2015

Have a good week!

For more discoveries and to savour all my moods, click «like» on  Humeurs de Paris’ Facebook Page or follow me on Instagram or Twitter

(photos offered)

http://humeursdeparis.com/app/uploads/2015/02/expo-jean-paul-gaultier-grand-palais-660x373-e1424026745834.jpg

Ce qui m’allume en 2015

Je ne sais pas si vous êtes comme moi. J’adore les débuts d’années. Difficile à comprendre me direz-vous quand janvier déballe son grand baluchon de froid intense qu’on ressent jusque dans les os et qu’on songe à ces foutues résolutions qu’on cherche à balancer dès les minutes où on les a prises!

En fait en ce qui me concerne, je préfère davantage voir cette période comme le moment où se termine un chapitre pour en débuter un autre, le moment pour observer tout ce qui m’entoure, un temps d’arrêt qui très souvent me permet de me ressourcer et d’entamer l’année la tête remplie d’idées et de projets stimulants. Je m’amuse à fouiner sur le web, les blogues, à lire tout ce qui me tombe sous la main et consulter les nouvelles programmations. Et je peux d’ores et déjà vous annoncer que des deux côtés de l’Atlantique, 2015 promet d’être une année riche et stimulante.

Voici ma sélection des évènements à ne pas manquer et à mettre à votre agenda.

1. Exposition «Now’s the Time» de l’artiste Jean Michel Basquiat, Toronto

A review of the AGO's really big Jean Michel Basquiat show.

Il s’agit de la première rétrospective canadienne de cet artiste aux multiples talents qui, durant sa courte vie, a su marquer sa génération par ses œuvres puissantes et provocantes où sont exploités les thèmes du racisme, des inégalités sociales et de la mort qui lui ont valu une renommée internationale.

Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario, 1 avril au 7 mai

2. À Paradise City, le nouvel album de Jean Leloup

Il aura fallu patienter cinq longues années pour retrouver Jean Leloup, l’enfant terrible de la musique. Celui qui nous habite dès les premiers accords, qui chaque fois nous enveloppe et nous fait oublier tous nos soucis. Il nous revient enfin avec son nouvel album, À Paradise City, un autre voyage fabuleux dans son univers fantastique.

Sortie 3 février

 3House of Cards, saison 3

Très curieuse de découvrir ce que nous réserve le machiavélique tandem Underwood pour cette troisième saison où le redoutable Kevin Spacey devenu Président des États Unis devra faire face à un adversaire de taille : la Russie.

Sur Netflix dès le 27 février

4. Expo La Planète Mode de Jean Paul Gaultier, Paris

expo-jean-paul-gaultier-grand-palais-660x373

Dès le 1 avril, le prestigieux Grand Palais de Paris déroulera le tapis rouge pour cette vibrante exposition née au Musée des Beaux Arts de Montréal sous la direction de Nathalie Bondil et du charmant commissaire Thierry Maxime Loriot, l’une des expos les plus spectaculaires et créatives jamais présentées. Une fabuleuse aventure qui en est à sa dixième escale après Montréal, Dallas, San Francisco, Madrid, Rotterdam, Stockholm, Brooklyn, Londres, Melbourne. Et chaque fois c’est magique!

Galeries Nationales du Grand Palais, 1 avril au 3 août

5. The Elephant Man, New York

Elephant Man, TheBooth Theatre

Parce que ce n’est pas tous les jours qu’on a la chance de voir Bradley Cooper jouer au théâtre et encore moins d’interpréter l’Homme Éléphant, ce personnage repoussant au visage transformé par de nombreuses malformations. Et parce que Cooper livre une performance étonnamment sensible et désarmante.

Booth Theater, jusqu’au 21 février

6. Expos Sophie Calle et David Altmejd, Montréal

Calle_Conf-1024x682

Il se passe plein de choses excitantes au Musée d’art Contemporain de Montréal cette année. Si vous avez écouté Tout le Monde en Parle récemment, comme moi vous êtes sans doute tombés sous le charme irrésistible de l’artiste française Sophie Calle présentée au MAC. Une artiste accomplie dont les œuvres et la démarche sont absolument captivantes et valent le détour.

Altmejd2

Et en juin, le MAC nous réserve une autre belle surprise en accueillant l’Expo FLUX de l’artiste montréalais David Altmejd que j’ai eu le privilège d’admirer au Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris et croyez-moi, il s’agit d’une expo exceptionnelle peuplée de ses géants spectaculaires et d’œuvres magistrales époustouflantes.

7. Nouvelle Boutique IRO, Montréal

Je ne vous cacherai pas que je suis une adepte des vêtements de la griffe française IRO qui arborent un style bobo chic aux accents rock. Et tenez-vous bien, ils ouvriront la première boutique canadienne et bonheur, c’est Montréal qu’ils ont choisi pour poser leurs valises!

iro_woman_fw14_000005

Lookbook IRO SS 15_000009

4883 rue Sherbrooke, ouverture février 2015

Bonne semaine!

Pour d’autres découvertes et pour savourez toutes mes humeurs cliquez «J’aime» sur la Page Facebook de Humeurs de Paris ou suivez mon sur Instagram ou Twitter

(photos gracieuseté)